Very Inspiring Blogger Award- My First Blog Award :)

Wow…

When I started blogging I never imagined that I would be nominated for an award!

Initially I started blogging because I saw a friend of mine doing so. I loved the posts on her blog and the koi theme she was using at the time. It looked cool, and kinda sophisticated. It felt like it wasn’t what normal people did- blogging,and I felt I should own my own blog too since I consider myself not ‘normal’.

My first post was My First Crappy Poem. It was my first time blogging ever, and I didn’t even know what tags were. So yeah, that post got no views ofcourse. Overtime, my initial motive for blogging changed. I suddenly wasn’t doing it because I saw someone else do it, instead my blog became a place where I could express myself, and my thoughts.I decided to learn about WordPress features, thus learning about tags, widgets and the like. It felt funky owning a blog,but at the same time, kind of grown-up.

Its really wonderful when you’re able to express your thoughts and people get to appreciate it. I will admit there were sometimes when I almost digressed from being me because I badly wanted to be featured on ‘Freshly Pressed’ or have over a hundred likes on a post. During those times, I would quickly remind myself that I was here to express rather than impress. That kind of thinking got me through whenever it was time to make new posts, and also seeing the steady increase in the number of those who subscribed to my blog. After my first three posts, I stopped blogging for likes,comments or being featured; and that was when I started having even more views and followers! There was certainly no need to pretend to be someone I wasn’t. In the end, people loved me for being me.

I want to thank Rinth for nominating me for this award. It is very unexpected. I feel very honored that I was able to inspire someone, even if it was a little bit, through my blog 🙂

I really don’t know how this works, but I guess this is the part where I list seven facts about myself and then nominate fifteen other bloggers. So here are some seven and not-so-interesting facts about myself:

  • I am a Nigerian..for those bloggers who don’t know this
  • My mother is a Muslim and my dad is a Christian, but I am a Muslim
  • My talents are drawing,singing and probably writing…amongst others
  • I love to read novels and take looong walks
  • I hate insects very very much
  • Im scared of dogs,but I love puppies
  • Knowing myself is a project

Why I nominated the following bloggers below is because their continous support of my blog by ways of either liking or commenting on my posts, or following my blog, encouraged me to not give up on being myself while blogging. They made me feel like my thoughts mattered, so this is my little way of appreciating them. Please I implore you not to feel bad if you are not on this list as I was limited to a specific number of bloggers. I was only able to get fourteen people, although it wasnt easy. All my followers and readers really inspired me, but these are the really special ones:

Thanks guys!

4 thoughts on “Very Inspiring Blogger Award- My First Blog Award :)

  1. Aw… thank you for nominating me back, although I should probably have told you that I’m not to be included in that list :P.

    Anyway… those were some rather interesting facts about you there! I mean one of your parents are Christian yet you choose to be Muslim… mashAllah! That’s really cool!

    I think many aspiring bloggers deserve such nominations. I mean I don’t know how big of a deal it is (guess different to everyone), but it’s a great way to get to know stuff about the person which you didn’t know before and to promote blogs. And I truly think your blog deserves it. I haven’t followed you for long, but the posts I have read so far are truly… well… inspiring :).

Leave a Reply

