Ramadan Kareem

Me looking all mysterious and stuff 😀

Tick.. Tock.. Tick ..Tock.

Time’s run out. The Countdown is down to zero. The moment we, the Muslims, have been waiting for has finally arrived. The most anticipated and beautiful time of the year has finally come. Above all else, we are alive to witness it, and by God’s grace will be healthy enough to observe it.

All hail Ramadan!!!

What is Ramadan? Ramadan is the ninth month of the Islamic Muslim calender. This is the period where Muslims are obligated to fast from sunrise to sunset. During this fast, they are to abstain from things such as drinking,smoking, legal sexual intercourse, adultery, fornication, gossiping, slandering, lying, cheating, having stray thoughts, fighting, getting angry,cursing etc. In summary, abstaining from all physical needs. In other words, it is required you be as pure as a baby, in thoughts and in deed. In the end, Ramadan is more than just not eating and drinking. It requires that you sacrifice all this for God’s absolute mercy, a way of ridding yourself off all the wrong deeds you have been doing through out the year. A way of actually purifying oneself.

I would have explained in further detail what Ramadan is by the way, but I do not want to restrict it’s meaning to how I may describe or define it on this blog. Therefore I implore you to go research. Go wild on it. Feel free to do so. Break those prejudices,misconceptions or assumptions you may have and go research. Surf the net, read about it in books if you have to. Afterall, that is what makes us properly informed individuals rather than what we gather from arguments, the somewhat half-truth from the news, and what we perceive, RIGHT?

Anyway, I am very excited. This IS my favorite time of the year, even though it involves me sacrificing some things like my beloved food. Ok seriously now, I love it because to me it’s like a month of miracles, a month of absolute purity, and the month where I feel closer to God than any time of the year. There’s just this aura about it, where I am completely at peace with myself and I actually get to win inner battles(battle of spirit vs flesh). *sigh* I actually feel WHOLE. Also,  I actually look fresher during this time of the year. I really can’t describe it. It’s like the fasting gets rid of all the toxins in my body, I look physically fit and all my visible scars appear to fade. It’s not exactly the kind of freshness you get from cosmetic products. It can’t be washed off!

In all honesty, I can’t describe exactly how I feel during Ramadan period. I fear the description may seem too basic or exaggeratively poetic. I will try, however, to dissect how it makes me feel in the next thirty days of its duration. Just know for now that it makes me really happy 🙂

This year I plan to observe Ramadan fasting better than I have done in previous years. It’s something I always plan to do yet never fully accomplish. Something always gets in the way. I pray to God that this year gets to be different.

This was just an impromptu post, but I couldn’t help but wish my fellow Muslims on wordpress ‘Happy Ramadan’ 🙂

Fellow non-muslims are invited to come fast with us too :D. Even if you don’t fast, you can meditate for the duration of Ramadan(30 days), or try to abstain from some of the things I mentioned earlier. Its worth a shot! 😀

May God guide us in observing Ramadan in every sense of the word. Once again, Ramadan Kareem and enjoy every bit of it!

4 thoughts on “Ramadan Kareem

  1. I also experience that; I’m completely at peace with myself during the Ramadan period. This is my 3rd subsequent years of fasting and I love it, absolutely. I recognize many of those blessings you out-lined.

    Last year, I observed that my phobia for red colors seemed to had varnished during the period. It returned after.

    I now realize that when I am hungry for a long time like in days, the phobia thing does not come in me. Right now, I am pretty sure I can comfortably hold a red piece of clothing.

    For the avoidance of doubt, I am not a muslim. I started fasting out of the need to discipline myself since I live in a community that is predominately muslim.

    This year, ofcourse, Ramadan comes during holiday for you. So, no classes that could cause distraction or some uneasiness. May you enjoy it to the fullest. My wishes and regards.

Leave a Reply

