Tribute To The Parents

It’s not easy being a parent though.

Ive always imagined how it would be like. Having my own kids, each of them having different characteristics gotten from me, and of course their own unique traits. The beauty of it makes me smile. Will my daughter be like her mum? moody now, happy the next minute? Or will my son have my manners? I pray whatever they get from me will be my best attributes.

Ive always wandered how my mum must have felt when she carried me in her arms that first day. Of course I sort of know how she felt-read an old diary of hers(snoopy much!!!), but i think no matter how she tried, she just couldn’t capture that moment in words.

One of the most beautiful moments of parenthood is watching the miracle you both have made, transform over time. You are there every stage of that  transformation, taking into account every detail so that you can remember and use it to tease your them when they grow up. That feeling of accomplishment you get when you see your child also accomplish something. You feel good because you were part of that accomplishment, because you gave them support when they needed it the most, because you didn’t give up on them when they made mistakes. All this because you love them.

But there comes a time when your child starts to grow wings, and they want to try new things. At this point, peers have the upper-hand, even a boyfriend or girlfriend. You suddenly realize you no longer have control of your child. You also realize you really don’t know your child, because they’ve learned to show you only that part of them they want you to see. You talk to them and advice them about what’s right and what’s not. In the end, it’s really up to them to decide if they should act on what you’ve told them. In the end, it’ll up to them to make their decisions, and if those decisions result in them making terrible mistakes, well, you as the parent has to be there- No Matter What.

This doesn’t mean you should restrain your child. Oh no, that would be much worse, because if you don’t inform them about some things, peers and the media will teach them. Don’t stop them from having friends, or something like that. And I think the mistake a lot of parents make, is advising their kids without including the consequences.  For example, as a child, I was told never to put my hand near the rolling blades of a fan. Why not? This, I wasn’t told. I was very curious as a child and what they didn’t inform me, I always tried to figure out myself. And that wasn’t a very good thing. Nevertheless, I still went ahead and put a finger near the rolling blades of a standing fan- Childish stupidity. Anyway, I came out of that experience with a finger which is still slightly crooked till date. It says ‘Hi’ by the way 😀

Morale of the story: Tell your children everything. Let them know things from you first. It’s sad how little kids these days aren’t so little anymore because the media, ranging from music, movies and even the cartoons always portray stuff they’re very curious to try out. And if after advising and lecturing them, they still go ahead, well…, just know you did your best 🙂

And as for my peers, don’t ever be rude to your parents. I know they can be annoying sometimes, especially when you’re all grown up, and they still want to treat you like a child or try to make certain decisions for you. Sometimes you’ve got to make them see why you do somethings you do, or why you have to do them. Whatever it is, just don’t make them regret having you.

Back to the parents, I guess you just have to accept that your child is growing up. You also have to accept that he/she will make some decisions that you may not like, but you’ll just have to accept them because they’re really not so bad once you consider them. Additionally, please don’t get disappointed when your child makes stupid mistakes, immediately help them make amends. Also, don’t get sad when they are not grateful for some of your actions that will probably save them from future qualms. In the end, they’ll come to realize what you saved them from and will be grateful. And even if they don’t get to realize it.., just know you did your best:)

3 thoughts on “Tribute To The Parents

  1. Wow luvly write up. Wot I can say is one day U̶̲̥̅̊’ll b der Α̲̅Ω̴̩̩̩̥d̶̲̥̅̊ look bak Α̲̅Ω̴̩̩̩̥d̶̲̥̅̊ say U̶̲̥̅̊ once thought of being der… Believe ♍ε̲̣̣̣ it wuldn’t just be fun åƪƪ thru bt most wuld b… Parenthood

Leave a Reply

